top of page

Five senses and the healing power of human touch

The definition of health in Ayurveda is defined as when the three doshas (Vata,Pitta and Kapha), the digestive fire (agni) and seven dhatus (tissues) are in balance and the tissues and wastes function in a normal, balanced state. The five sensory organs, mind and soul must be also in a pleasant state.

When your sense of taste and smell is stronger, your vision is sharper, your hearing is more refined, and your sense of touch is heightened, you can experience all the pleasures of being in a human body with greater presence and clarity. The nervous system must receive and process information from the external world in order to react, communicate, and keep the body healthy and safe. Much of this information comes through the sensory organs: the eyes, ears, nose, tongue, and skin. Specialized cells and tissues translate them into signals that the nervous system can use. Nerves transmit the signals to the brain, which interprets them as sight, sound, smell, taste, and touch.

Touch is the first of our senses that we develop and consists of several different sensations such as pressure, temperature, vibration or pain, which are communicated to the brain through specialized neurons in the skin. Human touch, be it a warm hug, a kiss, or a pat on the back is very important to a person's well-being. Understanding the effects of human’s touch on our minds and bodies can be a key to our overall health and happiness. It can help reduce anxiety, improve stress levels, boost immune function and soothe tension. Consequently, this can lead to a better state of mind, deeper sleep, greater clarity, and reduced body tension.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


    • Instagram
    • LinkedIn
    • TikTok
    bottom of page